New Berlin Public Library

Site-wide Search


Event Calendar

VIEW AS  Calendar View   List View

FILTER BY 

« Go Back

New Berlin Historical Society Spring Membership Meeting- Author Appearance Jerry Apps

Monday, April 17, 2017 | 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm

 
Community Room

Contact Person: The New Berlin Historical Society

Spring Membership Meeting and Program

Featuring Jerry Apps, noted author

Monday, April 17, 2017, 6:30- 8:30pm

 

The spring meeting program will be a presentation by noted author Jerry Apps. He will discuss his latest book, Never Curse the Rain: A Farm Boy's Reflections on Water

Growing up on the family farm, Jerry Apps learned from a young age that water was precious. The farm had no running water, a windmill pumped drinking water for the small herd of cattle, and Jerry and his brothers hauled bucket after bucket of water for the family’s use. A weekly bath was considered sufficient. And when it rained, it was cause for celebration.

Jerry Apps is professor emeritus at the University of Wisconsin–Madison and the author of many books on rural history, country life, and the environment. He has co-created four documentaries with Wisconsin Public Television and has won several awards for his writing and a regional Emmy Award for the program A Farm Winter. His books for the Wisconsin Historical Society Press include The Quiet Season: Remembering Country Winters and Whispers and Shadows: A Naturalist’s Memoir. Jerry and his wife, Ruth, have three children, seven grandchildren, and two great-grandsons. They divide their time between their home in Madison and their farm, Roshara, in Waushara County.

 

prev

  May 2019  

next
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
28
29
30

Wednesday, May 1, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Thursday, May 2, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Friday, May 3, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Saturday, May 4, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Sunday, May 5, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Monday, May 6, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Tuesday, May 7, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Wednesday, May 8, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Thursday, May 9, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Friday, May 10, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Saturday, May 11, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View
12

Monday, May 13, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Tuesday, May 14, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View
15

Thursday, May 16, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Friday, May 17, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Saturday, May 18, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View
19

Monday, May 20, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Wednesday, May 22, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Thursday, May 23, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Friday, May 24, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View
25
26

Monday, May 27, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Tuesday, May 28, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View
29

Thursday, May 30, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Friday, May 31, 2019

Click on the Date for a Full Day View
1

View Full Calendar View Full Calendar