New Berlin Public Library

Site-wide Search


Event Calendar

VIEW AS  Calendar View   List View

FILTER BY 

« Go Back

Where Have All the Bees Gone?

Wednesday, June 21, 2017 | 6:00 pm - 7:15 pm

 
Heritage Room

Jennifer Lazewski is a Southeast Wisconsin Master Gardener Volunteer working with UW-Extension and the founder of its Pollinator Group. An experienced butterfly and hummingbird gardener who last year hosted a rare Anna’s hummingbird, she is now focusing her efforts on the many native bees that increasingly visit her small, urban Wauwatosa yard. After learning about the crucial role that bees play in the local ecosystem and local food movement, she is dedicated to bringing university-based research on bees and other pollinators to the community.
Pollinators drive seed and food production throughout the world. Nearly 1/3 of the food we eat requires it. If you want local food, you also need local bees and other pollinators. Their numbers are declining, however, due to habitat loss, pests, diseases, pesticides, and management practices. Find out how to attract and keep these crucial insects in your gardens with a succession of blooms throughout the season. Also learn about the different types of native bees, how to recognize them and how to help then thrive.

Registration is required.

 

prev

  May 2018  

next
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
29
30

Tuesday, May 1, 2018

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Wednesday, May 2, 2018

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Thursday, May 3, 2018

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Friday, May 4, 2018

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Saturday, May 5, 2018

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Sunday, May 6, 2018

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Monday, May 7, 2018

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Tuesday, May 8, 2018

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Thursday, May 10, 2018

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Friday, May 11, 2018

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Saturday, May 12, 2018

Click on the Date for a Full Day View
13

Monday, May 14, 2018

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Tuesday, May 15, 2018

Click on the Date for a Full Day View
16
17

Friday, May 18, 2018

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Saturday, May 19, 2018

Click on the Date for a Full Day View
20

Monday, May 21, 2018

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Thursday, May 24, 2018

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Friday, May 25, 2018

Click on the Date for a Full Day View
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2

View Full Calendar View Full Calendar