New Berlin Public Library

Site-wide Search


Library Staff Picks


 The New Berlin Public Library staff
 read and listen to books... a lot.
 
 Thursday is a great day to consider
 your reading plans for the weekend!
 Every week, we'll post a new
 recommendations below with a
 few thoughts to share! 

Thursday, August 6th
 

 The Library Book by Susan Orlean is Sally's

 recommendation: "Fascinating story about

 libraries in general and the fire of the Los 

 Angeles Public Library in 1986.  Interesting

 details."
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  

 Ed found Lombardi's Left Side by Herb Adderley to be

 particularly interesting: "The book tells the story of what

 many consider to be the greatest defensive 'side' ever in

 the NFL. The 'left side' of the Packers defense in the

 1960's was manned by Willie Davis (DE), Dave Robinson

 (LB) and Herb Adderley (DB). All three of these players

 are in the NFL Pro Football Hall of Fame. During this

 time, the Packers were NFL champions 5 of 7 years. It

 contains some great insights on how Adderley and

 Robinson became Packers, the team's unique chemistry, and how they were all molded by Vince Lombardi into being some of the greatest teams to ever play in the NFL. Twelve players, along with Coach Lombardi, are enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame." 

 

Thursday, July 30th

 Robin raves about Drive Your Plow Over the

 Bones of the Dead by Olga Tokarczuk: "If

 you like mysteries, you will love this

 book! The setting is in Poland and there are

 many interesting twists and turns. Olga

 Tokarczak is an acclaimed author, winning

 the Nobel Prize in Literature, Man Booker

 International Prize, and finalist for the

 National Book Award for Translated

 Literature.  Her books are not to be missed!"

 

 Barbara recommends the audio version of Evvie Drake

 Starts Over by Linda Holmes. "This is a smart and funny

 romance. Definitely for the grown-ups." Check the Libby

 app for this digital audiobook! 

 

 

 
 

 

Thursday July 23rd

 Michele enjoyed British crime classic Murder by 

 Matchlight by E.C.R. Lorac. "A Golden Age detective

 story, with memorable characters and good plotting.

 Captures the setting of London during the Blitz very

 well." 

 

 

 

 

 

 Nancy can't stop gushing about The Way of the 

 Brave by Susan May Warren! "This was a fantastic book!  It had action and suspense throughout, and it kept you

 guessing till the end as to what would happen. I

 couldn't put it down. This is the first book in the Global

 Search and Rescue series."  

 

 

 
 
 

 

Thursday, July 15th 

 

  Shannon recommends Normal People  

  by Sally Rooney: "Normal People was the kind of

  book you can easily read in one sitting. It was an

  emotional look at relationships and class, while

  showing the process one must go through to

  realize who they truly are." 

 

 

 

 

 

  Natalie raves about the cookbook Oh She Glows by   
  Angela Liddon: "With a little more time in the kitchen,
  I've been experimenting with some vegetarian dishes
  and this title grabbed me right away because I want
  to GLOW! The recipes were vegan and those I tried
  were tasty. By far, the best was the Avocado-Cilantro
  Cream sauce (p. 147), which is now a new staple in my
  fridge. It can be drizzled on just about anything and
  adds loads of flavor."
 
 
 
 

Thursday, July 8th

 

  If Bleeds by Stephen King. After         

  reading, Sarah's thoughts: "I listened to the   

  audiobook. The narrators were wonderful!

  The book consists of four short stories and

  the second one, "The Life of Chuck,"

  was BEAUTIFUL. 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
  The Winds of Change by Martha Grimes.
  Laura shares: "I am working through the Richard
  Jury mysteries by Martha Grimes. And while all the
  characters are colorful, sometimes
  laugh-out-loud funny, and so worth meeting,
  finally, here was one that also had a
  semi-happy ending."